Confession Part 3 – I Cheated on the Holga

Ok, I guess sometimes it can happen to the best of us – we tend to get tempted by something else even though we know that what we have is already the most brilliant. I guess in a way it’s good that I’m just talking about a camera here.

I was quite intrigued by the La Sardina lomo camera because it had a gorgeous wide angle lens which I’ve always been intrigued by.

When a friend of mine offered to let me borrow his, I thought why not – here’s a chance for me to play around with it a little and get a feel for it myself. Did I love it? Yes and no. It’s superbly easy to use (no guessing when the next frame is…) and comes in a cute little compact case. He also lent me the Fritz the Blitz flash set that comes with it, along with a ton of different light filters, but I’ve never gotten round to using it at all. I just don’t seem to be the type that loves flash. The one on the Holga has only ever been fired once.

The part I didn’t quite love about the La Sardina lomo camera was that the pictures weren’t horrible, but they seemed kinda meh. It could just be me, but I thought the images that came out of the Holga had just so much more personality. I’ve still got another roll in the Sardina, so I’m curious to see how that turns out.

20121029-001735.jpg

20121029-001808.jpg

20121029-001823.jpg

20121029-001842.jpg

20121029-001918.jpg

One thought on “Confession Part 3 – I Cheated on the Holga

Leave a Reply

