Seeing things in monochrome

I’ll readily admit one thing – I am not a fan of black and white. Yes, I can appreciate that some pictures do look better in monochrome, and it certainly takes a special kind of skill to be able to shoot really well with just shades of grey but personally, I am just not a fan of it.

I love bright bold colours, I love super saturated looking colours. In fact, I love anything that brings life to a picture through colour.

So as a challenge, I made myself shoot in black and white. The first roll turned out pretty sad – as in, nothing much showed up at all, as one of the fail rolls. My second and third attempts were better, though I still had a lot of blank shots that didn’t come out right.

I also realised I tended to forget I was shooting black and white sometimes, and ended up with rather bland looking shots. That’s okay though, it’s all part of the process of learning.

4 thoughts on “Seeing things in monochrome

Leave a Reply

