From the first roll

The first roll I shot with the Holga was fraught with worry and excitement. It was the first time in a very very long time that I was shooting on film again – I worried that I’d mess everything up and it would all be a waste.

In a way, I was right. I shot the first two 120 rolls with the B Mode (or bulb mode, where the shutter speed is dependant on how long you hold the shutter down for) on. Which meant I ended up with a lot of blurry pictures, and not in a good way that I could pass off as creative and artistic.

I was a little disappointed to say the least, and while I did get one or two nice shots out of 24, I had been expecting more. This one of the doorway is one of my favourites.

Lesson learnt: always always check your shutter mode before you start shooting.

Leave a Reply

